Contact Information

Angela K. Wilson
Department of Chemistry
Michigan State University
578 S. Shaw Lane
East Lansing, MI 48824

Office: CEM 387
Lab: CEM 218
Phone: (517) 353-1111
Email: Send an email


Angela K. Wilson

John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry

Ph.D., University of Minnesota
AWU/DOE Postdoctoral Fellow, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory


Selected Awards and Honors
  • Michigan Women's Hall of Fame Inductee (2018)
  • Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal (2015)
  • UNT Foundation Eminent Scholar Award (2015)
  • Wilfred T. Doherty Award, Dallas-Ft. Worth Society of the American Chemical Society (ACS) (2014)
  • Decker Scholar (2013-2015)
  • Fellow, American Physical Society (2013)
  • IUPAC Distinguished Woman in Chemistry or Chemical Engineering (2013)
  • Foundation Leadership Award (2013)
  • UNT Inaugural Distinguished University Research Lecturer (2012)
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2012)
  • UNT Research Leadership Award (2011)
  • Fellow of the American Chemical Society (2010)
  • QSCP Promising Scientist Award of CMOA (2010)
  • UNT Research Scholar Award (2009)
  • UNT Toulouse Scholar Award (2009)
  • Appointed as U.S. Delegate to the IUPAC General Assembly by the National Academies (2009, 2011, 2013, 2015)
  • Chair of the U.S. Delegation to the IUPAC General Assembly (2013, 2015)
  • National Associate of the National Academies (2008)
  • US Chair of the 2006 Chinese/American Frontiers of Science (US National Academy of Science)
  • IUPAC Young Observer (2003, 2005)
  • Wiley International Journal of Quantum Chemistry Young Investigator Award (2004)
  • National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2003)
  • Science Advisory Board Program Consultant, EPA (2003-2004)
  • Visiting Research Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (2003-2004)
  • American Chemical Society Leadership Development Award (2003)
  • Visiting Research Scholar, University of Sydney (2003)
Recent Leadership
  • MSU Academic Advancement Network Leadership Fellow (2018-2019)
  • Division Director (Head), National Science Foundation, Division of Chemistry (2016-2018)
  • Associate Vice Provost for Faculty, University of North Texas (2015-2016)
  • Editor, Computational and Theoretical Chemistry (2014- )
  • Editorial Board, International Journal of Quantum Chemistry (2011-2015)
  • Editorial Board, Computational and Theoretical Chemistry - formerly, Journal of Molecular Structure THEOCHEM (2011-2013)
  • Executive Member, ACS Division of Physical Chemistry (2010-2016)
  • Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Physical Chemistry (2010-2012)
  • American Physical Society, Division of Computational Physics Member-at-Large (2008-2011)
  • American Chemical Society, National Councilor (2004-2016)
  • U.S. National Committee for IUPAC, National Academies (2007-2016):
    • Chair (2014-2015)
    • Vice Chair (2012-2014)
  • Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, EMSL User Advisory Board:
    • Chair (2013-2014)
    • Board Member (2007-2014)
  • IUPAC Division of Physical and Biophysical Chemistry Committee:
    • President (2016-2017)
    • Vice President (2014-2015)
    • Secretary (2012-2013)
    • Titular Member (2009-2017)
    • Associate Member (2006-2009)
  • IUPAC Subcommittee for Materials Chemistry (2009-2015)
  • UNT Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling (CASCaM), Director (2005-2016)
  • American Chemical Society Council Policy Committee (2014-2016)
  • American Chemical Society Committee on Nominations and Elections (2009-2013)
  • American Chemical Society Committee on Science:
    • Member (2007-2009)
    • Associate Member (2005-2006)
  • American Chemical Society Alternate National Councilor (2003-2004)
  • Leadership Texas (2003)
Recent Publications


“A Multi-state Modified Embedded Atom Method Potential for Titanium”, J.S. Gibson, S.G. Srinivasan, M.I. Baskes, R.E. Miller, and A.K. Wilson, Modelling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering 25, 015010 (2017).

“Adsorption and Molecular Siting of CO2, Water, and Other Gases in the Superhydrophobic, Flexible Pores of FMOF-1 from Experiment and Simulation”, Peyman Z. Moghadam, Joshua F. Ivy, Ravi K. Arvapally, Antonio M. dos Santos, John C. Pearson, Li Zhang, Emmanouil Tyllianakis, Pritha Ghosh, Iain W.H. Oswalk, Usharee Kaipa, Xiaoping Wang, Angela K. Wilson, Randall Q. Snurr, and Mohammad A. Omary, Chemical Science 8, 3989 (2017).

“Relativistic Ab Initio Accurate Minimal Basis Sets: Quantitative LUMOs and Oriented Quasi-atomic Orbitals for the Elements Li-Xe”, George C. Schoendorff, Aaron C. West, Michael W. Schmidt, Klaus Ruedenberg, Angela K. Wilson, and Mark S. Gordon, J. Phys. Chem. 121, 3588-3597 (2017).  ​

“Efficacy of Density Functionals and Relativistic Effective Core Potentials for Lanthanide-Containing Species: The Ln 54 Molecule Set”, Lucas E. Aebersold, Stephen H. Yuwono, George Schoendorff, and Angela K. Wilson, J. Chem. Theor. Comp. 13, 2831 (2017).

“Towards a More Rational Design of the Direct Synthesis of Aniline: A DFT Study”, Zainab Al Sunaidi, Thomas Cundari, and Angela K. Wilson, ACS Omega 2, 3214 (2017).

“Importance of the Ligand Basis Set in Ab Initio Thermochemical Calculations of Transition Metal Species”, Cesar Plascencia, Jiaqi Wang, and Angela K. Wilson, Chemical Physics Letters (accepted).

Recent Leadership/Other Publications

“Reaction: Fundamental Science and Academic-Industrial Partnerships”, Angela K. Wilson, Chem 1, 176-177 (2016). (invited)

“Effective Strategies for Women in Science: Addressing Challenges and Opportunities”, Angela K. Wilson, Nature Reviews Chemistry, 10 May (2017).

“Mini-sabbaticals: Routes to Reenergize Department Chairs and Their Departments”, Angela K. Wilson, The Department Chair, 26(4), 13 (2016).

“Successful Succession Planning for Chairs: Perspectives on Passing the Torch”, Angela K. Wilson, The Department Chair, 27(1), 5-6 (2016).